Installation shot of the museum exhibition by Daisuke Yokota showing garbage in a clean space.

Foam Paul Huf Award 2023: jury members announced

The 17th winner of the Foam Paul Huf Award will be revealed on Thursday 23 March 2023.

This award for talented upcoming photographers is organised annually by Foam and evaluated by an independent and renowned jury. The jury for the 2023 edition consists of the following members: Anna-Kaisa Rastenberger (chair, Finland), Ashleigh Kane (United Kingdom), Sunil Gupta (India/Canada), John Fleetwood (South-Africa) and João Linneu (Brasil). In the following weeks, the jury will start reviewing the portfolios of nominated artists from all over the world to select a winner.

Press release | Amsterdam, March 2023    

The award consists of a cash prize of €20.000 and a solo exhibition at Foam. Above all, the winner will see his/her/their name added to an impressive list of alumni. In 2022 the Foam Paul Huf Award has been awarded to the South-African photographer Lebohang Kganye (1990) whose exhibition Haufi nyana? I’ve come to take you home is currently on show at Foam until 21 May 2023.

About the jury

Anna-Kaisa Rastenberger is director of the Finnish Museum of Photography and also founder and artistic director of The Festival of Political Photography. Ashleigh Kane is Arts & Photography Editor at Dazed Magazine and has years of experience in talent discovery and mentoring. Sunil Gupta is a successful artist and co-founder of the Autograph Association, an association dedicated to raising awareness of issues of race, human rights and social justice. John Fleetwood is a curator, co-head of BA Photography at the KABK and director of Photo: in South Africa, a multifunctional platform for the development and promotion of socially engaged photography. João Linneu is a designer and art director and co-founder of Void Photo Publishing House which is specialised in photography books and education.

International experts

To produce an internationally representative selection, Foam approached around twenty-five nominators from various parts of the world. Specialists and experts in the field of photography were each asked to select a number of talented upcoming photographers in their own region. The award is open to upcoming photographers from all ages working in all photographic genres: from documentary or applied photography to journalistic or independent work. The winner’s work must exhibit clear visual language and contribute significantly to today's photographic community in both form and content.


Adam Mazur (Writer, curator and assistant professor at the Department of Photography of the University of Arts in Poznan), Aldeide Delgado (Independent Latinx curator, founder and director of the nonprofit organization Women Photographers International Archive), Alfonse Chiu (Writer, Artist, Curator, and Founder/Director of the Centre for Urban Mythologies), Barbara Gregov (Writer, researcher and curator for the Organ Vida Festival), César González Aguirre (Independent curator and founder of the Trans Memory Archive) Daniel Boetker-Smith (Director at the Centre for Contemporary Photography in Melbourne and director Asia-Pacific Photobook Archive), Denise Camargo (Curator, visual artist and teacher at Brasilia University), Emma Bowkett (Director of Photography at the Financial Times FT Weekend Magazine), He Yining (Writer, Researcher and Curator), Hercules Papaioannou (Writer, researcher, Curator at MOMus-Thessaloniki Museum of Photography), Irina Chmyreva (Photography historian and curator, co-founder of the PhotoVisa Festival), Iris Sikking (Curator of Photography bij Fotomuseum Den Haag), Kateryna Radchenko (Ukrainian curator and director of Odessa Photo Days Festival), Kathrin Schönegg (Co-head of program/curator of Photography at C/O Berlin), Laura Lafon (Art Director of Photography at Gaze Magazine), Lucia Janto and Jokin Aspuru (Getxophoto Festival founders and directors), Maria PTqk (Independent curator and cultural researcher), Mathew Leifheit (Photographer, Editor and professor in New York), Nayan Tara Gurung (director Photo Kathmandu Festival), Santiago Escobar Jaramillo (Photographer and founder of Raya Editorial Publisher), Tanzim Wahab (Curator of Chobi Mela Photography Festival), Tim Clark (Editor-in-Chief at 1000 Words Magazine and Artistic Director of Fotografia Europea), Tommasso Parrillo (Founder of Witty Books publisher), Verónica Sanchis (Founder of Foto Féminas Latin America and Caribbean women photographers), Yumi Goto (Independent curator, editor, researcher, consultant, educator and publisher) and Zied Ben Romdhane (Magnum Nominee).

Previous winners and exhibitions
Opening night exhibition foam. People looking around in a space full with printed photography.

Opening exhibition Eric Gyamfi

Winner 2019

Deborah, from the series Week– End, 2009 © Alex Prager, courtesy of the Foam Collection

Alex Prager

Winner 2012

Exhibition of Laia Abril. Big photos of objects representing forms of rape and agression shown in the museum.

Exhibition Laia Abril

Winner 2020

Pink Ladies and Pear, 2012 © Daniel Gordon, courtesy of the Foam Collection

Daniel Gordon

Winner 2014

Installation shot of the museum exhibition by Daisuke Yokota showing garbage in a clean space.

Exhibition Daisuke Yokota

Winner 2016

About Paul Huf

The award is inspired by the Dutch photographer Paul Huf (1924 – 2002) and his open and enthusiastic approach to new photography and upcoming talent – which is parallel to Foam's mission. Paul Huf was known for his innovative photographic technique, and he was personally involved in the establishment of Foam Fotografiemuseum Amsterdam in 2001.

Previous winners

2022 - Lebohang Kganye (1990, South Africa)
2021 – John Edmonds (1989, United States)
2020 - Laia Abril (1986, Spain)
2019 - Eric Gyamfi (1990, Ghana)
2018 - Daniel Shea (1985, United States)
2017 - Romain Mader (1988, Switzerland)
2016 - Daisuke Yokota (1983, Japan)
2015 - Momo Okabe (1981, Japan)
2014 - Daniel Gordon (1980, United States)
2013 - Taiyo Onorato & Nico Krebs (1979, Switzerland)
2012 - Alex Prager (1979, United States)
2011 - Raphaël Dallaporta (1980, France)
2010 - Alexander Gronsky (1980, Estonia)
2009 - Leonie Hampton (1978, United Kingdom)
2008 - Pieter Hugo (1976, South Africa)
2007 - Mikhael Subotzky (1981, South Africa) and Taryn Simon (1975, United States)

The winner of the Foam Paul Huf Award 2023 will be announced on Thursday 23 March, via a press release and online media of Foam.

Keizersgracht 609
1017 DS  Amsterdam
The Netherlands
+ 31 (0)20 5516500

Note to editors

For more information and visual material please contact the Press Office of Foam via
email us

The Foam Paul Huf Award is made possible by the generous support from Mentha.

see more