The Foam Paul Huf Award is an internationally acclaimed photography prize, initiated by Foam, for photographers under the age of 35 from across the world.

Since 2007, Foam has awarded this prize to support and offer a platform to upcoming talent. Paul Huf Award winners are Taryn Simon ('07), Mikhael Subotzky('07), Pieter Hugo ('08), Léonie Hampton-Purchas ('09), Alexander Gronsky ('10), Raphaël Dallaporta ('11), Alex Prager ('12), Taiyo Onorato & Nico Krebs ('13), Daniel Gordon ('14), Momo Okabe ('15) and Daisuke Yokota (’16). They each work in a distinct, personal style, both conceptually and formally. In the following years, the respective winners have each made an international breakthrough, demonstrating that winning this title had a positive impact on their careers.

Winner Foam Paul Huf Award 2016

Japanese photographer Daisuke Yokota (b. 1983 Saitama) was chosen as the winner of the tenth Foam Paul Huf Award 2016. The jury chose Daisuke Yokota from a pool of 97 nominated photographers, from 29 countries worldwide.

Simon Baker (Tate London, chairman of the jury):
“Daisuke Yokota is one of the most innovative and experimental young photographers working in the world today. The jury were unanimous in their decision that he win the 2016 Foam Paul Huf Award, in recognition of his complex, sophisticated practice. Yokota has established a formidable reputation as a young artist who has the ability to take photography forward into ever more original directions; from prints, to artist’s books, installations, and collaborative performance, and always with a distinctive and unmistakable visual language.”

An exhibition with the work of Daisuke Yokota will be on show in Foam at the end of 2016.

Nominations and Jury

Each year, the Foam Paul Huf Award jury consists of a new formation of five big names in photography. This jury evaluates 100 nominees, who are submitted by gallerists, curators, critics, photographers, publishers and art school faculty. The winner is awarded an exhibition in Foam, a publication in Foam Magazine, and a prize of €20,000. 

Jury of 2016

  • Simon Baker (chairman, senior curator, International Art (Photography) at Tate London, United Kingdom)
  • Joshua Chuang (independent curator and editor, United States)
  • Lucy Conticello (Director of Photography at M, Le Monde, Paris, France)
  • Felix Hoffmann (chief curator at C/O Berlin, Berlin, Germany)
  • Thyago Nogueira (head of contemporary photography department, Moreira Salles Institute and editor ZUM photography Magazine, Brasil)

About Paul Huf

The title of the award refers to Dutch photographer Paul Huf (1924-2002) who had a special connection with Foam. Huf was involved in the establishment of the museum in 2001 and he was known for his open and enthusiastic approach to new photography and upcoming talent–a clear parallel with the Foam's mission statement.

The Foam Paul Huf Award is made possible by JTI.