Click here to open

Taiyo Onorato & Nico Krebs win Foam Paul Huf Award 2013

Taiyo Onorato & Nico Krebs win Foam Paul Huf Award 2013

On March 12th Onorato & Krebs (Switzerland, 1979) were chosen as the winners of the Foam Paul Huf Award 2013 by an international jury. This annual prize given to a photography talent under 35 years consists of € 20.000 and a project with Foam.

The Foam Paul Huf Award continues to attract portfolios from all over the world. Out of 84 nominees this year, 34 were from Europe, 12 from Asia, 15 from North America, 9 from South America, 7 from Africa and 7 from the Middle East.

The jury gathered in anticipation and was deeply impressed by the diversity and seriousness of the wide-ranging nominations from across the international photographic spectrum. The jury stated: "Our shortlist consisted of a select group representing a variety of approaches, from contemporary docu-graphic to conceptual and fine-art practices. In the work of artistic collaborators Taiyo Onorato and Nico Krebs we see a playfulness and depth that touches upon the very DNA of photography. We happily confer this prize on them unanimously."

Darius Himes, chairman of the jury noted:

"As illusionists intent on pushing against the boundaries of the medium, Onorato and Krebs skillfully engage their audiences and convey some of the magic that lies at the core of photographic image-making."

Director of Foam, Marloes Krijnen, on the Foam Paul Huf Award: "I'm tremendously proud of the existence and continuity of the Foam Paul Huf Award. Every year we see a great amount of new and qualitatively excellent work. Next to the Foam Magazine Talent Issue and Unseen, the international photography fair which takes places in September on the Westergasfabriek terrain in Amsterdam, the award is very much in line with Foam's objective to discover and support international, young photography talent."

The members of the jury were:
Darius Himes
, Chairman (director of Fraenkel Gallery, San Francisco/co-founder of Radius Books, USA)
Anne-Marie Beckmann
(curator of Deutsche Börse Art Collection, Frankfurt, DE)
Emma Bowkett
(photo editor of Financial Times Weekend Magazine, London, UK)
Eder Chiodetto
(curator of photography at Museum of Modern Art of São Paulo, São Paulo, BR)
Stefano Stoll
(director of Festival Images, Vevey, CH)

The Foam Paul Huf Award has been organised by Foam since 2007. The prize focuses entirely on young, international talent and boasts an impressive list of previous winners. These include:
2012 - Alex Prager (1979, USA);
2011 - Raphaël Dallaporta (1980, France);
2010 - Alexander Gronsky (1980, Estonia);
2009 - Leonie Hampton-Purchas (1978, UK);
2008 - Pieter Hugo (1976, South Africa);
2007 - Mikhael Subotzky (1981, South Africa) and Taryn Simon (1975, US).

Foam has a special relationship with Dutch photographer Paul Huf (1924-2002). Huf was known for his innovative approach to photography and was personally involved in the founding of Foam in 2001.

For more information:

Note to editors:
For press information and visual material please go to and log in as username: photopress / password: FPHA2013. For further information and visual material please contact the communications department, e-mail foam[AT]

Foam. Open daily 10am - 6pm, Thurs/Fri 10am - 9pm. Tickets: € 8,75.

Foam is sponsored by the BankGiro Loterij, De Brauw Blackstone Westbroek, Delta Lloyd and the VandenEnde Foundation.

Keizersgracht 609
1017 DS Amsterdam
+ 31 20 5516500

Press Kit

For more information and images download: PRESS KIT

For log in information please call the communications department at Foam:
0031 205516500 or send an e-mail to foam[at]